World Science Scholars

2.3 Speed

discussion Discussion
Note

Discussions are a place where registered users can click on Reply to share their ideas and questions that follow from the material we’re covering. All users can view the conversation and indicate their like or dislike for a specific comment.

Viewing 71 reply threads
    • What direct evidence do we have that the Earth is spinning? After all, much as in the example from the lecture in which George and Gracie are floating in space, we don’t seem to feel the Earth’s motion. (Hint: Is the rising/setting of the sun convincing evidence? Have you ever encountered a Foucault Pendulum?)

• I’m a Post Graduate Physicist. Just trying to learn the way to explain ideas to my students. I know every bit of special relatively.

• Good stuff so far

• Good stuff. Pretty simple but complicated as well

• If the earth were orbiting the sun without spinning then shouldn’t the day and night cycle be different from what we observe?

• Yes, each would take half of a year (6 months of darkness, 6 months of light).

However, having the perception that the universe is revolving around Earth doesn’t mean Earth can’t be spinning. In fact, that’s exactly how it works with the sun! The sun rotates around its axis about once every 27 days. So even if you were standing on the sun (and able to survive it), you would still see the planets and stars moving across the sky just like we do here–they’d just be moving about 27x slower 🙂

• We can say Earth is spinning on its axis while revolving round the sun because we experience day and night seperately.If it was not spinning the day and night phenomana i think, would not occur daily , in some place there would be complete darkness and in someplace it would be daytime.